Anchor Go to the content anchor

Taichung Tourism

Anchor

Dayang Oil Depot

Posted Date : 2022-04-14 968

Introduction

Anchor
In 1950, Sino-US Joint Defense Treaty was signed between Taiwan and United States. According to the treaty, the original Gongguan Airport was expanded, and “Ching Chuan Kang” Airport became the largest air base in the Far East at the time. In 1962, Vietnam War broke out. To respond to the demands for the war with North Vietnam, the US armed forces used Ching Chuan Kang Airport as a logistic base. In 1966, seven oil depots were built at Yangcuo Village in Qingshui District near the base to provide fuel for the US fighters and B52 bombers. With the end of the Vietnam War and the diplomatic relations break-off in 1978, the role it played in military was gradually lost. Dayang Oil Depot is the current surviving historical buildings. It witnessed the cultural background of the war between US and Vietnam and stands well on Dadu Plateau.
In 2014, Dayang Oil Depot Recreation Park was completed, and Dayang Oil Depot is the most unique scenery in the park. The oil depot is not opened to the public in normal times. It is surrounded by fire protection wall, gate, and trees as separation to external environment. The local competent authority holds activities here irregularly to open to the public for visit and guided tour.

Details

Address
No. 10-1, Dingsanzhuang Road, Yangcuo Village, Qingshui Dist., Taichung City Taiwán, R.O.C
TEL.
04-22290280

Service Facilities

  • Parking

How to Get There

Back to the top of page